Receipt of the 62nd CSJ Award for Technical Development

March 31, 2014
Asahi Kasei Chemicals Corp.

Asahi Kasei Chemicals has received the 62nd CSJ Award for Technical Development in recognition of the development and commercialization of gold–nickel oxide (Au–NiOx) nanoparticle catalysts with a core-shell structure for methyl methacrylate (MMA) production, at an award ceremony held on March 28, 2014, at Nagoya University, Aichi, Japan.

The CSJ Award for Technical Development is awarded by the Chemical Society of Japan (CSJ) in recognition of significant contribution to chemical technologies. Founded in 1878, the CSJ is Japan’s preeminent chemical society. Upon receiving the award, Dr. Ken Suzuki, Chief Researcher in R&D Planning and Business Development of Asahi Kasei Chemicals, gave a lecture at Nagoya University on March 30.

The award recognizes the development of Au–NiOx nanoparticle catalysts with a core-shell structure, as well as commercialization of a new “direct oxidative esterification” (DIRECT METHA) process for MMA using the new catalysts. The Au–NiOx nanoparticles have a core-shell structure, with Au nanoparticles at the core and the surface covered by highly oxidized NiOx. They are supported on a carrier with high dispersion. This novel bimetallic nanoparticle structure provides superior catalytic performance than monometallic nanoparticles.

The successful establishment of industrial catalytic technology with high selectivity, high activity, and long catalyst life by developing a high-strength silica-based carrier, using NiOx for improved chemical stability, and precisely controlling the distribution of the nanoparticles in the catalysts, results in reduced consumption of energy and resources, in addition to enabling superior economic performance.

Asahi Kasei Chemicals will continue to create new value for society by developing novel catalysts and chemical processes.

Recipients of the Prize

Ken Suzuki – Chief Researcher, R&D Planning and Business Development, Asahi Kasei Chemicals Corp. (center)

Tatsuo Yamaguchi – Advanced Battery Materials Development Center, Asahi Kasei Corp. (right)


Adobe Readeris required to view these PDF files.

page top